Register    Login    Forum    FAQ     Contact us
The Better Smoking Choice

Board index » Electronic Cigarette Discussions » New to Electronic Cigarettes / Product Questions

Post Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:48 am 

I have been smoking lights and now ultra lights for over 10 years. I want to switch to electronic cigarettes. Which strength in equal to ultra light?

Thanks!
Huy --

Post Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 9:03 am 
Valued Member

The naming of the cartridge nicotine levels is different by brand. To get something equal to ultra-lights I recommend picking the lowest nicotine level.

Some companies have cartridges with nicotine levels Zero, ultra-light, light, full and others specify the nicotine in mg (milligrams) such as 16mg, 8mg, 6mg, 4mg, 0 mg nicotine.

I suggest that when you first switch to an electronic cigarette don't reduce your nicotine level initially to make your transition as smooth as possible. After you feel comfortable with your new electronic cigarette then you can reduce the nicotine level if you wish.

Ken

Post Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 1:40 am 
Something to keep in mind about traditional cigarettes. The descriptions of Full Flavor, Lights, and Ultra Lights, are only referring to the FLAVOR not the Nicotine content. The average cigarette contains about 16mg. I currently own Blu. I have only had the Blu e-cig for a month. I started with there full flavored cartriges. I now refill my cartriges with 11mg from Johnson Creek. I purchased Blu with the intention of using it as a stop smoking aid. (keep in mind that an e-cig is not endorsed as a stop smoking product)
My next order from Johnson Creed will be 0mg of nicotine. I just truly enjoy using Blu.
The other day I was offered a traditional cigarette. I accepted it, lit it, and felt like I was going to be sick. I have smoked for 15 years, 1 to 1.5 packs a day. I didn't realized how nasty a traditional cigarette was.